Hamburg in October 2021
Drawing area 2-100
Dear steps friends,
World Sight Day takes place on the 2nd Thursday in October every year. We would like to take this as an opportunity to discuss the topic Eye health to put in the foreground. Because it is not true that just because nobody wears glasses in some rural areas in Namibia, people can see particularly well here. You can find out below which action we have come up with.
44 bear_CR Raimar von Wienskowski_XX_with CR
In August we were able to report on the benefits the former sewing room is now getting, and now there is an update on the newly built sewing room in Okakarara. In addition, despite the prevailing pandemic in Zimbabwe enthusiastic.

We know about and our many loyal donors and are incredibly grateful that you stand by our side and fight with us for equal opportunities and jobs. Unfortunately we cannot mention all of them. Therefore, in this newsletter we only report on selected actions that took place in public.

We thank you very much for your loyalty, the many support actions and your commitment.
Your
Michael Hoppe

STEPS IN NAMIBIA

Present Situation

Corona
While the vaccination centers are being closed again here in Germany, it is growing the number of fully vaccinated people in Namibia is slow. 7,7% of the population are currently vaccinated, 10,9% have already received the first vaccination. The 1-day incidence is 7 and there were 35 new infections.

High unemployment still means hunger

Okahandja_nutrition_Feb_19_Copyright_ThomasNaber (29)

© Thomas Naber

Even if the incidence in Namibia has decreased, tourism, which otherwise creates a few jobs, is not yet really starting up again. Unemployment is still very high and so the nutritional situation remains very critical for many families. Numerous children also outside of our projects urgently need for themselves
and her sibling meals, because there is nothing at home. We are still serving larger portions of food for the whole family and loved ones.
With 40 € you donate warm meals for 1 child + 2 relatives 5 days a week for 1 month.

At first glance

Soup Kitchen_Boomerang (22) _
Eye health - a topic that receives little attention in Namibia. Because the health care system in Namibia does not cover the costs for an eye examination or the glasses in case of need. We use Eye Health Day to focus on the Necessity of the eyeundersearch to draw attention. Our educators and teachers have great needs.

READ MORE
We need at least 20 glasses for our teachers at various steps project locations in Namibia.
A pair of glasses with the previous one
Examination by a qualified optician
costs 85 €

The first income-generating project - the steps sewing room

Sewing room steps for children (3)
In Okakarara the first was created by Dr. Michael Hoppe initiated the children's aid project of the steps for children foundation. As part of the project, the first steps sewing room was founded in 2006. With the support of "Augsburgers Friends of Namibia" could the Sewing room can be realized as an income-generating measure. What has happened so far and how can you support?

READ MORE

3 stories of women who give courage

Superwomen
Who feed I take care of my family every day and I also send my children to the school on a regular basis Schooling? How do I create one better future for my community and their children? The stories are about women who have made a step into their own independence in the social and income-generating projects of the steps vor children foundation. You can read the 3 stories in the community.
LEARN MORE

STEPS IN ZIMBABWE

Commitment results in initiative

Garden Mutare_SW_Simbabwe
Zimbabwe has become a country of progress - at least from our perspective. The challenges were tackled and, step by step, the residents of the communities in which steps together with the Foundation Help with Plan and Plan International is active independent further projects based on the example of the measures that have already been carried out successfully.
You will find out what these successes are HERE - contributed to our decision to continue to be active in Zimbabwe. This time we will support income-generating projects for young girls in order to save them from child marriage.

STEPS IN GERMANY

The real estate industry for steps for children

_MG_5259

From left: Michael Hoppe, founder of steps for children and Simon Vollmer, managing director of wph Wohnbau und Projektentwicklung Hamburg GmbH

A proud 5-digit sum is this year's Charity golf event organized by wph Wohnbau und Projektentwicklung Hamburg GmbH got together. For the fifth time, golfers of all handicaps have played together for a good cause.
The tournament took place at the Weidenhof Golf Park in Pinneberg and instead of a registration fee ...
LEARN MORE

When CSR is lived

Thank you Brother International GmbH
This happened after our call for help Brother International GmbH's CSR team quickly approached the former employee Jochem Ihmig and provided help in times of need with a generous 4-digit contribution. What did the company support through the commitment of the employees and Mr.Ihmig?
READ HERE

A Namibia fan from Hamburg

Tews Koll made a booth (1)
One or the other will be surprised - what exactly is Tracks4Africa?
There is a forum on the Internet that deals exclusively with Namibia and traveling there. Interested Namibia fans cavort here. One member also found their way to us - Tews Koll.
READ MORE

Small, fine Alafia - this time indoor

Alafia_
The Alafia Africa Festival took place again this year. After a one-year break due to known restrictions, this year it was possible for steps to set up a small but nice indoor information booth at very short notice and not in the usual manner in Altona.
Even if there were hardly any contacts due to the reduced number of participants this year, our committed volunteers were very much looking forward to the stand.
For one afternoon they personally informed interested parties on site and drew their attention to our work and commitment in Namibia and Zimbabwe.
On behalf of the steps children and the entire steps team, we would like to thank our volunteers Birgit Eckert, Christine Leege and Anton Rathgeb very much for their commitment, even under 3G conditions, and hope that more information stands will soon be possible again as usual.

Christianeum high school in Hamburg

Thank you Christianeum
For the second time, the students of the Christianeum high school came up with a charity run: they sailed decentrally and independently on the Alster, rode many kilometers in a forest, ran a few laps around a pond, did the stand-up paddle board I explored canals and skated along the Elbe on inline skates.
All of this for the benefit of two aid projects - one of which was steps for children. This year, too, a remarkable four-figure sum was "run up". And that's not all: at the request of the schoolchildren, they have already dedicated the income from Christmas 2020 to steps children and young people and donated a large proportion of the proceeds from DVD sales, the Christmas bazaar and a raffle.
Thank you very much for your commitment in favor of steps for children! All in all, you have again reached a considerable amount of donations, which this year will be used in particular for the existential provision in Namibian slums.

DO YOU LIKE OUR NEWSLETTER?

Then we would be delighted if you would forward this newsletter to your friends, family and relatives.

THANK-YOU!
Facebook website Email youtube  Instagram 

The steps for children foundation was founded in 2005 in Hamburg by Dr. Michael Hoppe founded. It now operates at eight locations in Namibia and Zimbabwe, where it is committed to improving educational opportunities for girls and boys from the poor neighborhoods. Over 3.000 children can take part in education and take a warm meal every day at steps and its partner projects.

Hamburger Sparkasse, account: 1238149726, bank code: 200 505 50
IBAN: DE44 2005 0550 1238 1497 26, BIC: HASPDEHHXXX
PayPal: paypal@stepsforchildren.de
or www.stepsforchildren.de

You can make full donations to the steps for children foundation against income tax. You will automatically receive a certificate the following month after receipt of your donation.

With kind regards

Michael Hoppe
(CEO)

Steps for children foundation
Bramfelder Str. 77
22305 Hamburg
T +49 (0) 40 389 027 - 88
F +49 (0) 40 389 042 - 86
info@stepsforchildren.de

www.stepsforchildren.de

Editors:
Marie Schnaidt

Responsible for contents:
dr Michael Hoppe

Photos: © steps for children, unless otherwise noted

Hamburg im Oktober 2021
Zeichenfläche 2-100
[subscriber:firstname, | default:Liebe steps Freundinnen und Freunde],
am 2. Donnerstag im Oktober findet jedes Jahr der Welttag des Sehens statt. Den möchten wir zum Anlass nehmen, um das Thema Augengesundheit in den Vordergrund zu stellen. Denn es stimmt nicht, dass nur, weil in manchen ländlichen Umgebungen in Namibia niemand eine Brille trägt, die Menschen hier besonders gut sehen können. Welche Aktion wir uns ausgedacht haben, erfahrt Ihr weiter unten.
44 bear_CR Raimar von Wienskowski_XX_mit CR
Im August konnten wir davon berichten, welchen Nutzen die ehemalige Nähstube nun bekommt, jetzt folgt ein Update über die neu errichtete Nähstube in Okakarara. Außerdem haben uns die Erfolge trotz der vorherrschenden Pandemie in Simbabwe begeistert.

Wir wissen um unsere vielen treuen Spenderinnen und Spender und sind unglaublich dankbar dafür, dass Ihr an unserer Seite steht und gemeinsam mit uns für Chancengerechtigkeit und Arbeitsplätze kämpft. Leider können wir nicht alle erwähnen. Daher berichten wir in diesem Newsletter lediglich über ausgesuchte Aktionen, die in der Öffentlichkeit stattfanden.

Wir danken Euch sehr herzlich für Eure Treue, die vielen Unterstützungsaktionen und Euer Engagement.
Euer
Michael Hoppe

STEPS IN NAMIBIA

Aktuelle Situation

Corona
Während hier in Deutschland die Impfzentren wieder geschlossen werden, wächst die Zahl der vollständig geimpften in Namibia nur langsam. Zurzeit sind 7,7% der Bevölkerung geimpft, 10,9 % erhielten bereits die 1. Impfung. Die 7-Tage-Inzidenz liegt bei 35, es gab 38 Neuansteckungen.

Hohe Arbeitslosigkeit bedeutet immer noch Hunger

Okahandja_Ernährung_Feb_19_Copyright_ThomasNaber (29)

© Thomas Naber

Auch wenn die Inzidenzen in Namibia geringer geworden sind, läuft der Tourismus, der sonst ein paar Arbeitsplätze schafft, noch nicht wieder richtig an. Die Arbeitslosigkeit ist immer noch sehr hoch und damit bleibt die Ernährungssituation für sehr viele Familien sehr kritisch. Zahlrieche Kinder auch außerhalb unserer Projekte brauchen dringend für sich
und ihre Geschwister Mahlzeiten, denn zu Hause gibt es nichts. Wir geben nach wie vor größere Essensportionen für die ganze Familie und Angehörige aus.
Mit 40 € spendet Ihr warme Mahlzeiten für 1 Kind + 2 Angehörige an 5 Tagen die Woche 1 Monat lang.

Auf den ersten Blick

Suppenküche_Boomerang (22)_
Augengesundheit – ein Thema, das in Namibia wenig Beachtung findet. Denn das Gesundheitswesen in Namibia übernimmt weder die Kosten für eine Augenuntersuchung noch die Brille im Falle des Bedarfs. Wir nutzen den Tag der Augengesundheit, um auf die Notwendigkeit der Augen-untersuchung aufmerksam zu machen. Unsere Erzieher*innen und Lehrer*innen haben großen Bedarf.

MEHR LESEN
Wir benötigen mindestens 20 Brillen für unsere Lehrerinnen und Lehrer an verschiedenen steps Projektstandorten in Namibia.
Eine Brille mit entsprechend vorhergehender
Untersuchung durch einen qualifizierte*n Optiker*in
kostet 85 €

Das erste Einkommen erzielende Projekt - die steps Nähstube

Nähstube steps for children (3)
In Okakarara entstand das erste von Dr. Michael Hoppe initiierte Kinderhilfsprojekt der Stiftung steps for children. Als Teil des Projektes wurde 2006 die erste steps Nähstube gegründet. Mit der Unterstützung der Augsburger Freunde Namibias konnte die Nähstube als Einkommen erzielende Maßnahme verwirklicht werden. Was hat sich bisher getan und wie könnt ihr unterstützen?

WEITERLESEN

3 Geschichten von Frauen, die Mut machen

Superwomen
Wie ernähre ich täglich meine Familie und schicke zusätzlich meine Kinder regelmäßig in die Schule? Wie schaffe ich eine bessere Zukunft für meine Gemeinde und ihre Kinder? Die Geschichten handeln von Frauen, die in den sozialen und Einkommen erzielenden Projekten von der Stiftung steps vor children einen Schritt in die eigene Selbstständigkeit geschafft haben. In der Community könnt ihr die 3 Geschichten lesen.
MEHR

STEPS IN SIMBABWE

Aus Engagement resultiert Eigeninitiative

Garten Mutare_SW_Simbabwe
Simbabwe ist ein Land der Fortschritte geworden – zumindest aus unserer Perspektive. Die Herausforderungen wurden angegangen und Schritt für Schritt entwickeln die Bewohnerinnen und Bewohner der Gemeinden, in denen steps gemeinsam mit der Stiftung Hilfe mit Plan und Plan International aktiv ist, eigenständig weitere Projekte nach Vorbild der bereits erfolgreich durchgeführten Maßnahmen.
Diese Erfolge - welche das sind erfahrt ihr HIER - trugen dazu bei, dass wir uns dazu entschließen werden, weiterhin in Simbabwe aktiv zu sein. Diesmal werden wir Einkommen schaffende Projekte für junge Mädchen unterstützen, um sie vor einer Kinderheirat zu bewahren.

STEPS IN DEUTSCHLAND

Die Immobilienbranche für steps for children

_MG_5259

V.l.: Michael Hoppe, Gründer von steps for children und Simon Vollmer, Geschäftsführer der wph Wohnbau und Projektentwicklung Hamburg GmbH

Eine stolze 5-stellige Summe ist bei dem diesjährigen Charity-Golf-Event der wph Wohnbau und Projektentwicklung Hamburg GmbH zusammengekommen. Bereits zum fünften Mal haben Golferinnen und Golfer aller Handicaps gemeinsam für die gute Sache gespielt.
Das Turnier fand auf dem Golfpark Weidenhof in Pinneberg statt und anstelle einer Anmeldegebühr...
MEHR

Wenn CSR gelebt wird

Danke Brother International GmbH
Nach unserem Hilfeaufruf trat das CSR-Team von Brother International GmbH rasch an den ehemaligen Mitarbeiter Jochem Ihmig heran und leistete mit einem großzügigen 4-stelligen Beitrag Hilfe in der Not. Was die Firma durch den Einsatz der Mitarbeiter*innen und Herrn Ihmig dadurch unterstützt haben?
LEST HIER

Ein Namibia-Fan aus Hamburg

Tews Koll hat einen Stand gemacht (1)
Der eine oder andere wird sich wundern – was ist eigentlich Tracks4Afrika?
Es gibt ein Forum im Internet, das sich ausschließlich mit Namibia und den Reisen dorthin beschäftigt. Hier tummeln sich interessierte Namibiafans. Ein Mitglied hat auch den Weg zu uns gefunden – Tews Koll.
WEITERLESEN

Kleines feines Alafia – diesmal Indoor

Alafia_
Das Alafia Afrikafestival fand in diesem Jahr wieder statt. Nach einjähriger Pause durch bekannte Einschränkungen war es für steps in diesem Jahr sehr kurzfristig und nicht wie in gewohnter Manier in Altona möglich, einen kleinen aber feinen Indoor-Infostand aufzubauen.
Auch wenn es kaum Gesprächskontakte aufgrund der verminderten Teilnehmerzahl in diesem Jahr gab, so haben unsere engagierten Freiwilligen sich sehr auf den Stand gefreut.
Für einen Nachmittag informierten sie Interessierte vor Ort ganz persönlich und machten auf unsere Arbeit und das Engagement in Namibia und Simbabwe aufmerksam.
Wir danken im Namen der steps Kinder und des gesamten steps Teams unseren Freiwilligen Birgit Eckert, Christine Leege und Anton Rathgeb sehr herzlich für ihren Einsatz auch unter 3G-Bedingungen und hoffen, dass bald wieder mehr Infostände wie gewohnt möglich sein werden.

Gymnasium Christianeum in Hamburg

Danke-Christianeum
Schon zum zweiten Mal haben sich die Schülerinnen und Schüler des Gymnasiums Christianeum einen Spendenlauf ausgedacht: dezentral und eigenverantwortlich sind sie auf der Alster gesegelt, in einem Wald viele Kilometer geritten, ein paar Runden um einen Teich gelaufen, haben mit dem Stand-Up Paddelboard die Kanäle erkundet und sind mit Inlinern an der Elbe entlanggefahren.
Das alles zugunsten von zwei Hilfsprojekten – eines davon war steps for children. Auch in diesem Jahr wurde eine bemerkenswerte vierstellige Summe „erlaufen“. Und damit nicht genug: bereits die Einnahmen zu Weihnachten 2020 haben sie auf Wunsch der Schülerinnen und Schüler den steps Kindern und Jugendlichen gewidmet und einen großen Anteil der Erlöse aus dem DVD Verkauf, dem Weihnachtsbasar und einer Tombola gespendet.
Wir danken sehr herzlich für Euer Engagement zugunsten von steps for children! Insgesamt habt Ihr wieder eine beachtliche Spendensumme erreicht, die in diesem Jahr besonders zur existentiellen Versorgung in namibischen Armenvierteln dient.

EUCH GEFÄLLT UNSER NEWSLETTER?

Dann freuen wir uns sehr, wenn Ihr diesen Newsletter an Eure Freundinnen und Freunde, die Familie und Eure Verwandtschaft weiterleitet.

DANKESCHÖN!
facebook website email youtube instagram 

Die Stiftung steps for children wurde 2005 in Hamburg von Dr. Michael Hoppe gegründet. Sie ist mittlerweile an acht Standorten in Namibia und Simbabwe tätig, wo sie sich nachhaltig für bessere Bildungschancen von Mädchen und Jungen aus den Armenvierteln einsetzt. Über 3.000 Kinder können bei steps und seinen Partnerprojekten täglich an Bildung teilhaben und eine warme Mahlzeit einnehmen.

Hamburger Sparkasse, Konto: 1238149726, BLZ: 200 505 50
IBAN: DE44 2005 0550 1238 1497 26, BIC: HASPDEHHXXX
PayPal: paypal@stepsforchildren.de
oder unter www.stepsforchildren.de

Spenden an die Stiftung steps for children können Sie in voller Höhe bei der Einkommensteuer geltend machen. Eine Bescheinigung erhalten Sie automatisch im Folgemonat nach Eingang Ihrer Spende.

Mit herzlichen Grüßen

Michael Hoppe
(Vorstandsvorsitzender)

Stiftung steps for children
Bramfelder Str. 77
22305 Hamburg
T +49 (0) 40 389 027 - 88
F +49 (0)40 389 042 – 86
info@stepsforchildren.de

www.stepsforchildren.de

Redaktion:
Marie Schnaidt

Verantwortlich für den Inhalt:
Dr. Michael Hoppe

Fotos: © steps for children, falls nicht anders vermerkt