Hamburg in January 2021
Drawing area 2-100
44 bear_CR Raimar by Wienskowski_XX

© Raimar von Wienskowski

Dear steps friends,
We are starting the year 2021 full of power - now even in Dubai with the fastest advertisement ever for steps (see below). The children are eagerly awaiting the late start of school due to the corona, and preparations are in full swing in the projects to provide all children with school supplies. Unfortunately, we also get difficult news from Namibia: Between March and September there are more pregnancies among school-age girls - the time when schools are closed.
How the steps projects deal with it, you can find out in this newsletter.

Also for this year I wish you good health and confidence and would like to Thank you once again to all donors and supporters for the wonderful and generous donations made last year. Only with you we were able to cope with the loss of income caused by Covid-19 and the additional costs for the increased food distribution in Namibia and also in Zimbabwe.
warmly
Michael Hoppe

STEPS NAMIBIA

Soup kitchens are still busy

Our soup kitchens are also a point of contact for many children and their families during the holidays. There is still an increased need for meals, Many of the people from the poor neighborhoods are still receiving your only warm meal from steps for children.
Soup kitchen_BoH_2021 (5) _kl
With a 40 € Donation shall the food for 1 child + 2 relatives 5 days a week Funded for 1 month.

What worries us

Icon angel red with ring
The Pregnancies among girls of school age rose to over 3.600 cases in Namibia last year, according to official reports. Especially in the period from March to September during the corona-related school closings, the number rose dramatically. A big problem is that society has this and domestic violence, which has also increased due to the pandemic, as internal Family affair looks at.

Read more

What steps employees do in the projects for girls:

  • Regular conversations to provide information with children and parents.
  • Joint doctor visits with steps trust teacherto get contraception. Unfortunately, this is also a big problem; only a few doctors prescribe one, do not have the right one in stock or assume that the girls are too relaxed - to put it harmlessly - to behave.
  • Unfortunately, there are also occasional pregnancies of schoolgirls in our projects. In Okakarara and Gobabis, girls who are expecting children will go back to school after giving birth. But that is rather the exception - without steps and the trained teams of Sonja Schneider-Waterberg, Jackie Sanjath and Santiago Narib, die do everything possible to maintain contact with the girls, would they drop out of school too.

What you can do:

Save another girl from dropping out of school with a guardian angel sponsorship.
Here with one Guardian angel special donation help - with an amount of your choice.

School start in Namibia

School start in Namibia
At the beginning of the school year, which in Namibia does not take place in the middle of the year as in Germany, but at the beginning of the year, all preparations are made in the projects. The steps students pick up their material ...

Read more

Watch the vegetables grow!

Watch the vegetables grow!
Vegetable garden in Ongombombonde Watching the vegetables grow in Namibia - if you get such news from Namibia including pictures, we are incredibly happy! The red and green peppers already see ...

Read more

The chicken coop in Okanhandja

The chicken coop in Okanhandja
Meme Kauna Kauna takes care of the solar-powered incubator here. She has experience with chickens as she also raises chickens privately. The project was founded in 2006 by Kauna as a community project. The name "Ileni Tulikwafeni" means "Come on everyone and let's work together." In the project ...

Read more

STEPS IN ZIMBABWE

How we support people in Zimbabwe

How we support people in Zimbabwe
Not only are income-generating measures financed here, we also support the people behind them. Through intensive and regular ...

Read more
Bananas_Eggs_Simbabwe_2019_
We need help funding 394 banana plants for the facility
irrigated banana plantation.

1 banana plant = € 71

STEPS IN GERMANY

It's not a clubhouse.

It is better. We are happy to announce that we will shortly be opening a new space for mutual communication and exchange and that we cordially invite you to explore it with us. Here questions can be asked and answered in a safe space, information from the most important newspapers in Namibia can be shared and campaigns implemented. Experience steps up close, experience Namibia, watch interviews with employees in Namibia, rediscover topics, get deeper insights and connect together for a good cause. We have been grappling with this new possibility for almost a year - and are therefore considered pioneers in the NGO landscape.

See you soon - in the steps community!

The fastest advertising steps ever had.

wph Matthias Lühten Formula 3 free advertising (3)
A few days ago we received an advertisement for free!
I thank you very much our longtime supporter Simon Vollmer (wph Housing and Project Development Hamburg GmbH) and Matthias Luethen for the incredible opportunity to present steps here.

Read more

Also think of steps when shopping

Smile.Amazon
Doing something good with every purchase can be so easy. The next time you shop on Amazon, think of the steps for children and foundation seize the opportunity, via smile.amazon 0,5% donate the purchase price to us. A guide...

Read more

THANKS

Do you still know chain letters?

We look forward to your Forwarding of this newsletter to relatives and friends, colleagues and neighbors, your boss who are looking for gifts with impact, to all members of the card game club, to all parents in the kindergarten. Just sent
» this link
Facebook website Email youtube  Instagram 

The steps for children foundation was founded in 2005 in Hamburg by Dr. Michael Hoppe founded. It now operates at eight locations in Namibia and Zimbabwe, where it is committed to improving educational opportunities for girls and boys from the poor neighborhoods. Over 3.000 children can take part in education and take a warm meal every day at steps and its partner projects.

Hamburger Sparkasse, account: 1238149726, bank code: 200 505 50
IBAN: DE44 2005 0550 1238 1497 26, BIC: HASPDEHHXXX
PayPal: paypal@stepsforchildren.de
or www.stepsforchildren.de

You can make full donations to the steps for children foundation against income tax. You will automatically receive a certificate the following month after receipt of your donation.

With kind regards

Michael Hoppe
(CEO)

Steps for children foundation
Bramfelder Str. 77
22305 Hamburg
T +49 (0) 40 389 027 - 88
F +49 (0) 40 389 042 - 86
info@stepsforchildren.de

www.stepsforchildren.de

Editors:
Marie Schnaidt

Responsible for contents:
dr Michael Hoppe

Photos: © steps for children, unless otherwise noted

Hamburg im Januar 2021
Zeichenfläche 2-100
44 bear_CR Raimar von Wienskowski_XX

© Raimar von Wienskowski

[subscriber:firstname, | default:Liebe steps Freundinnen und Freunde],
voller Power beginnen wir das Jahr 2021 - jetzt sogar in Dubai mit der schnellsten Werbung aller Zeiten für steps (s.u.). Die Kinder warten gespannt auf den coronabedingt verspäteten Schulbeginn und in den Projekten laufen die Vorbereitungen auf Hochtouren, um alle Kinder mit Schulmaterial zu versorgen. Leider erreichen uns aus Namibia auch schwierige Nachrichten: Zwischen März und September sind vermehrt Schwangerschaften bei schulpflichtigen Mädchen zu verzeichnen – die Zeit während der Schulschließung.
Wie die steps Projekte damit umgehen, erfahrt ihr in diesem Newsletter.

Auch für dieses Jahr wünsche ich Euch gute Gesundheit und Zuversicht und möchte allen Spender*innen und Unterstützer*innen noch einmal ganz, ganz herzlich für die wunderbaren und großzügigen Spenden im letzten Jahr danken. Nur mit Euch konnten wir es schaffen, die durch Covid-19 bedingten Ausfälle der Einnahmen und die Mehrkosten für die verstärkten Essensverteilungen in Namibia und auch in Simbabwe zu meistern.
Herzlich
Michael Hoppe

STEPS NAMIBIA

Suppenküchen nach wie vor ausgelastet

Unsere Suppenküchen sind auch während der Ferien Anlaufstelle für viele Kinder und Angehörige. Es gibt nach wie vor einen erhöhten Bedarf an Mahlzeiten, noch immer empfangen viele der Menschen aus den Armenvierteln ihre einzige warme Mahlzeit von steps for children.
Suppenküche_BoH_2021 (5)_kl
Mit einer 40 € Spende wird die Nahrung für 1 Kind + 2 Angehörige an 5 Tagen die Woche 1 Monat lang finanziert.

Was uns Sorgen bereitet

Icon Engel rot mit Ring
Die Schwangerschaften bei Mädchen im schulpflichtigen Alter sind in Namibia im letzten Jahr laut offiziellen Berichten auf über 3.600 Fälle gestiegen. Besonders in der Zeit von März bis September während der coronabedingten Schulschließungen ist die Zahl drastisch angestiegen. Ein großes Problem ist dabei, dass die Gesellschaft dies und häusliche Gewalt, die ebenfalls durch die Pandemie zugenommen hat, als interne Familienangelegenheit ansieht.

Mehr erfahren

Was steps Mitarbeiterinnen in den Projekten für Mädchen tun:

  • Regelmäßige Gespräche zur Aufklärung mit Kindern und Eltern werden geführt.
  • Gemeinsame Arztbesuche mit steps-Vertrauenslehrerin, um Verhütungsmittel zu bekommen. Leider ist auch das ein großes Problem, nur wenige Ärzte verschreiben eines, haben nicht das passende vorrätig oder unterstellen den Mädchen, sich zu locker – um es harmlos auszudrücken – zu verhalten.
  • Leider gibt es auch in unseren Projekten vereinzelt Schwangerschaften von Schülerinnen. In Okakarara und in Gobabis werden die Mädchen, die ein Kind erwarten, nach der Geburt wieder in die Schule gehen. Doch das ist eher die Ausnahme – ohne steps und die geschulten Teams von Sonja Schneider-Waterberg, Jackie Sanjath und Santiago Narib, die alles daransetzen, den Kontakt zu den Mädchen aufrecht zu erhalten, würden auch sie die Schule abbrechen.

Was Ihr tun könnt:

Mit einer Schutzengelpatenschaft ein weiteres Mädchen vor dem Schulabbruch bewahren.
Hier mit einer Schutzengel-Sonderspende helfen - mit einem Betrag Eurer Wahl.

Schulstart in Namibia

Schulstart in Namibia
Zum Schuljahresbeginn, der in Namibia nicht wie bei uns in Deutschland Mitte des Jahres, sondern zum Jahresanfang stattfindet, werden in den Projekten alle Vorbereitungen getroffen. Die steps Schüler*innen holen sich ihr Material schon ab…

Mehr erfahren

Dem Gemüse beim Wachsen zusehen!

Dem Gemüse beim Wachsen zusehen!
Gemüsegarten in Ongombombonde Dem Gemüse in Namibia beim Wachsen zusehen - wenn einen dann solche Neuigkeiten aus Namibia inklusive Bilder erreichen, freuen wir uns unglaublich! Die Paprika in rot und grün sieht jetzt schon …

Mehr erfahren

Der Hühnerstall in Okanhandja

Der Hühnerstall in Okanhandja
Meme Kauna Kauna kümmert sich hier um den solarbetriebenen Brutkasten. Sie hat Erfahrung mit Hühnern, da sie auch privat Hühner züchtet. Das Projekt wurde 2006 von Kauna als Community Projekt gegründet. Der Name "Ileni Tulikwafeni" bedeutet "Kommt alle und lasst uns zusammenarbeiten." In dem Projekt werden …

Mehr erfahren

STEPS IN SIMBABWE

Wie wir Menschen in Simbabwe fördern

Wie wir Menschen in Simbabwe fördern
Hier werden nicht nur Einkommen schaffende Maßnahmen finanziert, wir fördern auch die Menschen, die dahinterstehen. Durch intensive und regelmäßige…

Mehr erfahren
Bananen_Eier_Simbabwe_2019_
Wir benötigen Hilfe bei der Finanzierung von 394 Bananenpflanzen für die Anlage einer
bewässerten Bananenplantage.

1 Bananenpflanze = 71 €

STEPS IN DEUTSCHLAND

Es ist nicht Clubhouse.

Es ist besser. Wir freuen uns, Euch mitteilen zu können, dass wir in Kürze einen neuen Raum zur gemeinsamen Kommunikation und Austausch eröffnen und euch herzlich dazu einladen, ihn mit uns gemeinsam zu erkunden. Hier können in einem sicheren Raum Fragen gestellt und beantwortet werden, Informationen aus den wichtigsten Zeitungen Namibias geteilt und Aktionen realisiert werden. steps hautnah erleben, Namibia erfahren, Interviews mit Mitarbeiter*innen in Namibia anschauen, Themen neu entdecken, tiefere Einblicke bekommen und sich gemeinsam für den guten Zweck verbinden. Fast ein Jahr setzen wir uns jetzt mit dieser neuen Möglichkeit auseinander – und gelten damit als Pioniere in der NGO Landschaft.

See you soon – in der steps Community!

Die schnellste Werbung, die steps jemals hatte.

wph Matthias Lühten Formel 3 geschenkte Werbung (3)
Vor ein paar Tagen wurde uns eine Werbung geschenkt!
Ich danke ganz herzlich unserem langjährigen Unterstützer Simon Vollmer (wph Wohnbau und Projektentwicklung Hamburg GmbH) und Matthias Lüthen für die unglaubliche Möglichkeit, steps hier zu präsentieren.

Mehr erfahren

Auch beim Shoppen an steps denken

Smile.Amazon
Mit jedem Einkauf etwas Gutes bewirken kann so leicht sein. Denkt doch beim nächsten Einkauf über Amazon an die Stiftung steps for children und nutzt die Gelegenheit, über smile.amazon 0,5 % des Einkaufspreises an uns zu spenden. Ein Leitfaden...

Mehr erfahren

DANKE

KENNT IHR NOCH KETTENBRIEFE?

Wir freuen uns über Eure Weiterleitung dieses Newsletters an Verwandte und Freund*innen, Kolleg*innen und Nachbar*innen, Eure Chefin oder Euren Chef, die Geschenke mit Impact suchen, an alle Mitglieder*innen des Kartenspielvereins, an die gesamte Elternschaft im Kindergarten. Versendet einfach
» diesen Link
facebook website email youtube instagram 

Die Stiftung steps for children wurde 2005 in Hamburg von Dr. Michael Hoppe gegründet. Sie ist mittlerweile an acht Standorten in Namibia und Simbabwe tätig, wo sie sich nachhaltig für bessere Bildungschancen von Mädchen und Jungen aus den Armenvierteln einsetzt. Über 3.000 Kinder können bei steps und seinen Partnerprojekten täglich an Bildung teilhaben und eine warme Mahlzeit einnehmen.

Hamburger Sparkasse, Konto: 1238149726, BLZ: 200 505 50
IBAN: DE44 2005 0550 1238 1497 26, BIC: HASPDEHHXXX
PayPal: paypal@stepsforchildren.de
oder unter www.stepsforchildren.de

Spenden an die Stiftung steps for children können Sie in voller Höhe bei der Einkommensteuer geltend machen. Eine Bescheinigung erhalten Sie automatisch im Folgemonat nach Eingang Ihrer Spende.

Mit herzlichen Grüßen

Michael Hoppe
(Vorstandsvorsitzender)

Stiftung steps for children
Bramfelder Str. 77
22305 Hamburg
T +49 (0) 40 389 027 - 88
F +49 (0)40 389 042 – 86
info@stepsforchildren.de

www.stepsforchildren.de

Redaktion:
Marie Schnaidt

Verantwortlich für den Inhalt:
Dr. Michael Hoppe

Fotos: © steps for children, falls nicht anders vermerkt