Gobabis

Projects in Gobabis

Region

Omatheke

location

200 kilometers east of the capital Windhoek; 110 kilometers west of the Botswana border; important traffic junction along the Trans-Kalahari Highway to Botswana and South Africa

population

about 30.000, about half live in informal settlements

population

Damara, San, Herrero, Tswana, Ovambo, Kavango

Story

1895 to 1915 under German colonial power; until Namibia's independence in 1990 under the mandate of South Africa; during apartheid, the white city council of Gobabis created the Epako district for the black population; The administration's 24-hour relocation right still applies in many areas.

Unemployment

in townships up to 90%; Young people are particularly affected

Education

high dropout rate in primary school

HIV / AIDS

up to 36%, especially young people and women

Download

In Gobabis we are very closely interwoven with the community in the townships. Our employees have access to families and their psychosocial problems. Through such engagement on site, we can support the families and thus also our children.

In the current crisis, however, we are also trying to maintain food supplies by distributing our food packages.

Project: Light for the children *, steps for children

Management:
Jackie Sanjath has headed steps for children since October 2020
Henk Olwage Trust steps for children, head of Light for the Children

Number of children: 544 - this number fluctuates within the year, however, as migrant workers often move in and out with their families.

History: The second project of the steps for children foundation was launched in 2010 in Namibia through cooperation with Light for the Children * realized. Initiated by Henk Olwage (former head of Gobabis), the project consisted of a soup kitchen and a preschool. Through the cooperation, further social steps could be set up and small businesses established. Together we succeed To create jobs in Epako, the poorest district of Gobabis, which at the same time give the social projects a financing option. The project was expanded to include a carpentry shop, guest house and computer school. In addition, the idea of ​​steps homes developed here for the first time. 

cooperation beginning: 2010

Effect: Through the social steps with crèche, kindergarten, preschool, soup kitchen and afternoon classes, together with our long-standing and reliable project partner Light for the Children, we ensure that the girls and boys in the surrounding poor district have a childhood that is close to education, give play and learning suggestions and offer safe contact points. Through our extensive Income generating steps We reduce unemployment and help the region to stabilize itself economically, such as the computer school or carpentry, the guest house and the attitude of teachers and other employees.

Soup kitchen (LftC), crèche (LftC), kindergarten (LftC), preschool (LftC), afternoon care (steps), guardian angel children (steps), steps homes (steps)

Computer school (steps), carpentry (steps), guest house (steps)

* LFTC

News from Gobabis

“Steps is an important partner to initiate development where it matters most - today's children are the basis of our communities of tomorrow. Children who live on the margins of society in particular need our help. ”

Henk Olwage

Project manager Gobabis, board member Trust steps for children

EnglishGerman
Scroll to Top

Content for 7 people and approx. 14 days: Rice, corn flour, wheat flour, fish cans, corned beef, rooibos tea, sugar, milk, orange juice, oil, soup, salt, soap, toilet paper, marshmellow Easter eggs, apples

Gobabis

Projekte in Gobabis

Region

Omatheke

Google Maps

Mit dem Laden der Karte akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Google.
Mehr erfahren

Karte laden

Lage

200 Kilometer östlich der Hauptstadt Windhoek; 110 Kilometer westlich der Grenze zu Botswana; wichtiger Verkehrsknoten entlang des Trans-Kalahari-Highways nach Botswana und Südafrika

Einwohner

ca. 30.000, etwa die Hälfte lebt in Informal Settlements

Bevölkerung

Damara, San, Herrero, Tswana, Ovambo, Kavango

Geschichte

1895 bis 1915 unter deutscher Kolonialmacht; bis zur Unabhängigkeit Namibias 1990 unter der Mandatsmacht Südafrikas; während der Apartheid legte die weiße Stadtverwaltung von Gobabis den Stadtteil Epako für die schwarze Bevölkerung an; noch heute greift in vielen Bereichen das 24-Stunden-Umsiedlungsrecht der Verwaltung.

HIV/Aids

bis zu 36%, besonders junge Menschen und Frauen

Bildung

hohe Abbruchquote bereits in der Grundschule

Arbeitslosigkeit

in Townships bis zu 90%; besonders betroffen sind Jugendliche

Download

Projekt: Light for the children*, steps for children

Leitung: Henk Olwage
Kinderanzahl: 544 – diese Anzahl schwankt jedoch innerhalb des Jahres, da Wanderarbeiter mit ihren Familien häufig zu- und wieder wegziehen.

Geschichte: Das zweite Projekt der Stiftung steps for children wurde 2010 in Namibia durch Kooperation mit Light for the Children* realisiert. Initiiert von Henk Olwage bestand das Projekt damals aus einer Suppenküche und einer Vorschule. Durch die Zusammenarbeit konnten weitere soziale steps eingerichtet und Kleinbetriebe aufgebaut werden. Gemeinsam gelingt es, Arbeitsplätze in Epako, dem ärmsten Stadtteil von Gobabis, zu schaffen, die den sozialen Projekten gleichzeitig eine Finanzierungsmöglichkeit geben. So wurde das Projekt um Tischlerei, Gästehaus und Computerschule erweitert. Außerdem entwickelte sich hier erstmals die Idee der steps homes. 

Kooperationsbeginn: 2010

Wirkung: Durch die sozialen steps mit Kinderkrippe, Kindergarten, Vorschule, Suppenküche und Nachmittagsunterricht sichern wir gemeinsam mit unserem langjährigen und zuverlässigen Projektpartner Light for the Children den Mädchen und Jungen des umliegenden Armenviertel eine bildungsnahe Kindheit, geben Spiel- und Lernanregungen und bieten sichere Anlaufstellen. Durch unsere umfangreichen Einkommen erzielenden steps wie der Computerschule oder der Tischlerei, dem Gästehaus und der Einstellung der Lehrerinnen und weiterer Mitarbeiterinnen verringern wir Arbeitslosigkeit und helfen der Region, sich wirtschaftlich zu stabilisieren.

Suppenküche (LftC), Kinderkrippe (LftC), Kindergarten (LftC), Vorschule (LftC), Nachmittagsbetreuung (steps), Schutzengelkinder (steps), steps homes (steps)

Computerschule (steps), Tischlerei (steps), Gästehaus (steps)

*LftC

Aktuelles aus Gobabis

„steps ist ein wichtiger Partner, um Entwicklung dort anzustoßen, wo sie am wichtigsten ist – die Kinder von heute sind die Basis unserer Communities von morgen. Besonders Kinder, die am Rande der Gesellschaft leben, brauchen unsere Hilfe.“

Henk Olwage

Projektleiter Gobabis,Vorstand Trust steps for children

EnglishGerman
Scroll to Top