Okakarara

Projects in Okakarara and Ongomombonde *

Region

Otjozondjupa

[borlabs-cookie id = ”googlemaps” type = ”content-blocker”]
[/ borlabs-cookie]

location

approx. 300 km north of the capital Windhoek

population

approx. 8.000

population

predominantly Herero

Story

The Waterberg is a few kilometers away. The Herero revolt against German colonial power took place there in 1904.

orphans

Up to 50% of the children are orphans or children in special need.

Education

Over half of the population in this region only attended primary school. Almost 90% of the secondary school's graduation class does not graduate.

Unemployment

Very high, in the poor neighborhoods over 80%.

Sources: Government of Namibia; internal key figures

Download

The heart of steps for children has been beating in Okakarara since 2006. Here is the center of our school effort. There are impressive learning successes. For the first time we have a year with high school graduates. In order to ensure these successes and because the schools are closed due to viruses, we are preparing special learning packages that are also intended to convey material outside of school. We urgently need donations to create sustainable materials. 

In the current crisis, however, we are also trying to maintain food supplies by distributing our food packages.

Project: steps for children

Management: Sonja Schneider-Waterberg
Number of children: 251
Project founded: 2006
History:
In Okakarara the first of Dr. Michael Hoppe initiated the children's aid project of the steps for children foundation, which was supported and financially supported by the couple Gertrud and Jürgen Schmotz from the beginning. It has grown very much since it was founded. Started steps in a Red Cross house (in which the sewing room founded by the Schmotz couple was based) with two social steps, a soup kitchen and preschool for 30 children, in one room and with a tiny kitchen. At that time there were four employees: two teachers, a cook and a project manager.

Today: There are now more social and Income generating steps as well as the additional location Ongombombonde, just 8 km away. Here is the vegetable garden and since 2018 children have also been taught in kindergarten and preschool on the premises. steps for children is the second largest private employer in the region with over 25 employees. On average, around 10 relatives are provided for each employee *. 

EffectAt both locations, the children experience loving care and versatile support. The Guardian Angel children in particular develop into healthy and independent young people who successfully complete school and thus have good career prospects. Your success is a role model for younger children. steps helps to make the value of education visible and thus changes the awareness and behavior of local people.

Soup kitchen, creche, kindergarten, preschool, afternoon care, guardian angel children

Sewing room, guest houses, vegetable garden, computer school / internet café

News from Okakarara

"The basics in child development are laid in the first years of life. The kindergarten teachers, preschool teachers and their assistants receive further training with the financial support of steps. The better educated they are, the more solid the foundations that the children take care of with steps. "

Sonja Schneider-Waterberg

Project management Okakarara

EnglishGerman
Scroll to Top

Content for 7 people and approx. 14 days: Rice, corn flour, wheat flour, fish cans, corned beef, rooibos tea, sugar, milk, orange juice, oil, soup, salt, soap, toilet paper, marshmellow Easter eggs, apples

Okakarara

Projekte in Okakarara und Ongomombonde*

Region

Otjozondjupa

Google Maps

Mit dem Laden der Karte akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Google.
Mehr erfahren

Karte laden

Lage

ca. 300 km nördlich der Hauptstadt Windhoek

Einwohner

ca. 8.000

Bevölkerung

überwiegend Herero

Geschichte

Wenige Kilometer entfernt liegt der Waterberg. Dort fand 1904 der Aufstand der Hereros gegen die deutsche Kolonialmacht statt.

Waisen

Bis zu 50% der Kinder sind Waisen oder besonders bedürftige Kinder.

Bildung

Über die Hälfte der Bevölkerung in dieser Region hat nur die Grundschule besucht. Nahezu 90% der Abschlussklasse der Secondary School schaffen den Abschluss nicht.

Arbeitslosigkeit

Sehr hoch, in den Armutsvierteln über 80%.

Quellen: Namibische Regierung; interne Kennzahlen

Download

Projekt: steps for children

Leitung: Sonja Schneider-Waterberg
Kinderanzahl: 251
Projektgründung: 2006
Geschichte:
In Okakarara entstand das erste von Dr. Michael Hoppe initiierte Kinderhilfsprojekt der Stiftung steps for children, das von Anfang an durch das Ehepaar Gertrud und Jürgen Schmotz mit aufgebaut und finanziell unterstützt wurde. Seit der Gründung ist es sehr stark gewachsen. Begonnen steps in einem Haus des Roten Kreuz (in dem bereits die von dem Ehepaar Schmotz gegründete Nähstube ihren Sitz hatte) mit zwei sozialen steps, einer Suppenküche und Vorschule für 30 Kinder, in einem Raum und mit einer winzigen Küche. Damals gab es vier Mitarbeiter*innen: zwei Lehrerinnen, eine Köchin und einen Projektleiter.

Heute: Inzwischen gibt es weitere soziale und Einkommen erzielende steps sowie den zusätzlichen Standort Ongombombonde, gerade einmal 8 km entfernt. Hier befindet sich der Gemüsegarten und seit 2018 werden Kinder ebenfalls in Kindergarten und Vorschule auf dem Gelände unterrichtet. steps for children ist mit über 25 Beschäftigten der zweitgrößte private Arbeitgeber der Region. Im Schnitt werden pro Arbeitnehmer*in ca. 10 Angehörige mitversorgt. 

WirkungAn beiden Standorten erfahren die Kinder liebevolle Zuwendung und vielseitige Förderung. Insbesondere die Schutzengel-Kinder entwickeln sich zu gesunden und selbstständigen Jugendlichen, welche die Schule erfolgreich absolvieren und damit gute Berufsaussichten erhalten. Ihr Erfolg ist ein Vorbild für jüngere Kinder. steps hilft den Wert von Bildung sichtbar zu machen und verändert damit das Bewusstsein sowie das Verhalten der Menschen vor Ort.

Suppenküche, Kinderkrippe, Kindergarten, Vorschule, Nachmittagsbetreuung, Schutzengelkinder

Nähstube, Gästehäuser, Gemüsegarten

Aktuelles aus Okakarara

8 Einsätze in 8 Jahren

Sabine Bohlen-Roß ist unsere Senior Expertin für Lehrerfortbildungen: Während jedes Aufenthaltes fanden Fortbildungen und Workshops über grundlegendes pädagogisches Wissen und...

Weiterlesen

Bildung macht stark!

Yvonne Tjongarero arbeitet seit 2017 als Erzieherin im Kindergarten von steps for children in Okakarara. Ihr Herz gehört den Mädchen...

Weiterlesen
YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

„Die Grundlagen in der Kindesentwicklung werden in den ersten Lebensjahren gelegt. Die Kindergärtnerinnen, Vorschullehrerinnen und ihre Assistentinnen bilden sich mit finanzieller Unterstützung von steps weiter. Je besser sie ausgebildet sind, desto solider sind die Grundlagen, die die Kinder in der Obhut von steps mitbekommen.“

Sonja Schneider-Waterberg

Projektleitung Okakarara

EnglishGerman
Scroll to Top